OT on ebay- opinions please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT on ebay- opinions please?

As Im in Uk, and scratch planning an affordable 5E3 build, transformers are very expensive from the US- can anyone give an opinion on this one? It says Fender Deluxe OT (tho no markings)- it should be perfect no? Opinions would be appreciated..
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...DME:B:AAQ:US:1

Also my other bits' plan is so far: a hammond 372bx PT (from UK), 2 EH 6v6GTs, a generic 5Y3, an EH 12ay7 and a Sino 12ax7. My speaker's a 12" Eminence legend 125 (8ohm 99db- I cant afford an Alnico Jensen) already in my small diy cab, which I hope to squeeze the lot into!

Any opinions/ advice on my choices as its my first time building an amp, again MUCH appreciated.

Thanks, Captain.

Actually Ive a hunch that ebay one above is a bit crap and a hammond 125 E output trannie is better- tho ebay seller says 'it sounds great'.. but he would eh?

Comment

I haven't heard of this one, but the visual equivalent over at Antique Electronics (P-TF41318 ) looks the same and uses a paper winding tube as opposed to a plastic bobbin. I've measured that one up and it has the right inductance to get you down to 80Hz or so & a low leakage inductance between the windings indicating it's interleaved. Haven't used mine in a 5E3, but it drives 2 x 10's nicely in other 18W and AX84 circuits.

You may want to ask the EBay seller about the bobbin and construction.
      Remember....these ARE the good old days.

Comment

If you noticed, 4 or 5 others have bought one of the 244 they still have left.
        Email one of those buyers and see what they think.
        Size wise, there is nothing to reference it to but it looks small, maybe a little bigger then a Princeton Reverb OT but not as big as a real Deluxe Reverb OT nor a real tweed Deluxe OT.
        I can't say for sure, but it looks like a VERY inexpensive piece of cheap Chinese work to me.