newbie here with basic questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie here with basic questions

Hi, I've been trying to learn about tube amps from books and stuff but I'm still pretty new at this. Can you guys answer some questions for me?

Is there any reason not to share the cathode RC network between gain stages, if they both want the same values anyway?

Here's a similar question: Say I have 2 channels that I want to mix together, each ending in a common-cathode stage. I could use an anode resistor and coupling cap on each of these, then mix them with resistors. Or I could short the anodes together and use a single anode resistor and coupling cap. What are the advantages/disadvantages of this?

Thanks!

See thread
    http://music-electronics-forum.com/t14638/
    for some viewpoints on this.
    If I've understood the arrangement you've put forward correctly, I would link anode to anode and cathode to cathode if the cathodes were to be fully bypassed, but keep them seperate if the cathodes were to be only partially bypassed. Peter.
    My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

Originally posted by pdf64 View Post
      See thread
      http://music-electronics-forum.com/t14638/
      for some viewpoints on this.
      If I've understood the arrangement you've put forward correctly, I would link anode to anode and cathode to cathode if the cathodes were to be fully bypassed, but keep them seperate if the cathodes were to be only partially bypassed. Peter.
      Thanks Peter, that link answered my first question. I'm not sure I understand your answer to the other question... surely I can link the anodes together regardless of whether the cathode is bypassed?

Comment

On the common cathode question, there will always be a little bit of crosstalk. It's up to you to determine if this is tolerable.