MXR dynacomp 3pdt led mod?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MXR dynacomp 3pdt led mod?

Newbie here, trying to mod a 1975-1978 mxr dynacomp to add an on/off led indicator. So far, I understand I need a 3pdt switch. I have that and all the other parts required. The question is, which poles do I wire on the switch to what wire? If anyone has any schematics or helpful tips it would be greatly appreciated.

I found a good resource at stew mac. Thanks anyway to everyone. I got what I needed. Here's the link if Anyones interested.

Free information : Fulltone 3PDT Stomp Switch at Stewart-MacDonald

Comment

A word or two of advice...

LEDs require current. LEDs also vary considerably in how much current they require. Some of the lower efficiency/brightness ones can require as much current as the very effect they are being used with, while others can achieve the same brightness with but a mere fraction of that current.

As many have found out, installing truebypass with an indicator LED can sometimes resulting in unpleasant loud popping when switching. The reason is that the LED needs enough current to turn on that it produces a spike on the supply lines shared with the audio portion of the circuit. One of the ways to avoid this and get more life out of a battery is to seek out and use a "superbright" LED. I'm not sure if there is any formal criterion, but I generally consider anything rated at 2000-3000 millicandles or higher to be "superbright". The classic little red things found in Boss pedals and such are likely on the order of 500mcd or less. With a superbright LED, the current-limiting resistor usually described as anywhere from 1k-3.3k can be as high as 12k-15k and still be as bright as a Boss.