Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Trying to fix loss of volume in a 1978 Randall RG300 Head (SS)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to fix loss of volume in a 1978 Randall RG300 Head (SS)

Hello everybody, I'm very thrilled to have recently found and joined this forum. I have recently started picking up good guitar amps from Craig's List and Ebay (mostly SS) that have some issues (as a hobby) and trying to fix them (have had a pretty good success rate so far with the help of the MEF archives!!!). Please excuse me if I break any forum protocols!

I am a chemical engineer by profession and have researched all this pretty extensively and do take all the precautions when working with high voltages, draining caps etc. I have a DMM but not a scope. I am quite comfortable with a soldering iron but have only just started learning how to read a schematic and do signal tracing etc.

I am a big fan of Enzo's troubleshooting skills , and had sent him an email and am now posting the relevant details here along with his response in a followup post):

On this particular amp (bought on ebay with a known problem) the problem was that even though this is a 300W amp the max volume when connected to a Crate 4x12 (GX412r - 4 ohms mono, 200W cab - spkr cable and cab are confirmed good as is the guitar and guitar cable) is the equivalent of vol 1. No hum or other problems. Cleaned up jacks with Deoxit, checked for lose connections, no visibly damaged resistors. I did see a pretty good discoloration on 2 of the 6 transistors casings (tray type, RCA, 3 each 7750, & 7807) looks like:

Ebay link