Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6g3 vol mod to 5e3

Newbie here. Hello everybody!

I ordered 5e3 kit. I will be receiving it soon and will embark on my first build. Half the fun will be learning. But my real motivation is to get a low cost blues amp.

I intend to build it as is (no mods) first... then begin modding to find the right configuration for me. Since I do not have experience playing a 5e3 tweed yet... my understanding of its characteristics is based on comments from others about possible improvements to the circuit.

One area of interest is taming volume.

I have been reading about the volume control circuit and various approaches to smoothing the vol increase so it doesn't go from 0 to max in 2 steps. I also understand it will provide a little extra headroom for cleanish sound at higher volumes.

It appears that some have taken the 6g3 approach of changing the vol pots to a voltage divider configuration and added a resistor between the wiper to the grid of the 2nd preamp stage.

I took a stab (untested approach) at reconfiguring the vol pots but retaining the single tone pot. See the attached drawing. forgive the use of text to make the schematic... I do not have software to draw schematics.

Please provide some feedback. Will this approach help to smooth the volume/distortion ramp up? Will it otherwise retain most of the character of the original circuit? Assuming this circuit will work... I like the bluesy distortion of the amp, but I want to keep the volume down a bit at home. Will this type of mod in effect have me increasing volume to get that great sound? Or do I need to go back to the drawing board?

Thanks
    Attached Files
    I am learning. My posts should not be considered as expert advice or suggestions for you to implement... on the contrary, I am looking for expert advice!

This will work fine, in fact it is exactly how some very old Fenders were wired.

The ramp up will be more gradual.