Use a 6L6 or EL34 in place of the 6V6

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Use a 6L6 or EL34 in place of the 6V6

I am new to amp building but have some knowledge. I have just built my version of a single ended 5F2 Princeton with high end components, switch selectable output impedance, and an adjustable biasing circuit so that I can use different power tubes. I am using the basic Angela's Single 6V6 schematic- Single 6V6 Guitar Amplifier Project.
    Can anyone assist me with the necessary wiring mods needed to use a 6L6 or El34 in place of the single 6V6? I want to be able to swap tubes, similar to an Emery Sound SuperBaby, and I cannot seem to find it anywhere on the internet for a single output tube amp.
    More information:
    Currently the 6v6 socket has pins 1 & 2 jumpered and tied to ground. I am assuming I need to disconnect pin 1 from pin 2 and connect pins 1 & 8.
    I am using an David Allen PT model TP35 and a custom Heyboer OT with taps for 6K, 4K, and 2.5K input and 16, 8, and 4 Ohm output.
    I believe I will also need to replace the screen resistor but I want to make sure. It currently has a 22K on pin 4 and a 270K on pin 5 to ground.
    Thanks
    Darrell

Hi Darrell, welcome to the forum

Originally posted by brodude View Post
    Currently the 6v6 socket has pins 1 & 2 jumpered and tied to ground. I am assuming I need to disconnect pin 1 from pin 2 and connect pins 1 & 8.
    Correct, Pin 2 is one of the filament pins, pin 8 is the cathode. In a 6L6 (and 6V6 for that matter), Pin 1 is not connected to anything. But in an EL34, Pin 1 is connected to the suppressor grid. (whereas in a 6L6 or a 6V6, the suppressor grid is internally wired to the cathode (pin 8)).

Take a look at the respective tube pin-outs on some datasheets.

You ideally want the suppressor grid connected in the EL34 in order to get the benefit of it.