Webcor 2110-1 reel to reel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Webcor 2110-1 reel to reel

I'm a complete tube noob, however love se guitar amps. So was at ye old thrift store yesterday and could not resist dragging home a Webcore 2110-1 reel to reel, that lit up when briefly plugged in at the store. Tubes: 12ax7, 12at7, 6x5, 2-6v6. Now having a wee bit of knowledge that these tubes have some potential...my imagination ran wild. So now that I got it home...any suggestions, e.g., returning it, parting it, scrapping and salvaging for parts to do a se 6v6, having a tech mod it. My preferences would be to minor mod it or have it modded for a pp 6v6 or scrap and salvage to attempt a first build simple 5F1 (?) type amp. Any suggestions or thoughts appreciated. Thanks
    Attached Files
    Last edited by wrathfuldeity; 12-10-2009, 07:33 PM.

Hey WrathfulDeity,,

Do not return that baby... Look at the condition of those parts!!

You could try and convert it as is into a really soulful sounding
    amp. I wish it were mine.....

I will keep in touch.

Comment

Great conversion project. I would gut it down to the chassis, tube sockets and transformers, then build a new tag/turret board for it. Then a couple of pots and a jack and you're done. Use what ever small 6V6 pp amp template you like. If you want to add another stage and need more heater currentsans the rectifier tube and use an SS rectifier. There's a great layout for a plexish 6V6 18 watt Marshall Lite on the 18 watt.com site. Just don't hurt yourself if your're clueless. Tube amps can kill you!

Comment

That's a great score! Usually the old reel to reel decks I find are single ended amps-- an ecl82 or el 84.
        I do what the previous poster says and gut them, then fit a smallish usually 8" speaker in, and voila you have a great portable amp.
        I'm more than a little jealous of yours though! Good luck you'll find lots of help here...
        Attached Files

Comment