Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need a louder 5c3....

Hi all,
    I like my Weber 5C3, but I need more volume, headroom. I have a weber power transformer for a bassman, and I have a weber bandmaster/ pro output tranny that are collecting dust. Can I use these in the 5C3 circuit and keep it cathode biased? Looking at a few schematics I think I may need to:
    1. use 6L6
    2. install 1.5k (2watt?) resistors on the power tube sockets
    3. Increase the 250 ohm bias resistor wattage from 5 watts to 10 watts, or more?
    4. I see a choke with the pro and the Bandmaster circuits... can I get by without one and keep the 10K 2 watt?

Is this doable without building the whole amp over again? Thanks for any help!

Originally posted by garytube View Post
    I think I may need to:
    1. use 6L6
    Yep you can - just make sure your PT is at least 180mA on the HT winding (some may say 150mA - YMMV) and 4A on the heater winding

2. install 1.5k (2watt?) resistors on the power tube sockets
    Are you talking grid stoppers? or screen resistors?

Screen resistors can go anything from 470R to 4k7. The bigger they are, the lower the screen voltage will be, and the less power you will have. (BTW this isn't going to sound like a 5C3 any more)

Similarly grid stoppers can be 1k5 to 4k7 - the bigger they get the more highs they will cut out, but the better they will be a stopping blocking distortion. But try it without them first and see how it goes.

3. Increase the 250 ohm bias resistor wattage from 5 watts to 10 watts, or more?
    Good idea. But stick with either 220R or 250R for the bias (you may even be able to get down to 180R, but see how the tube dissipation is once you have got the B+ up a bit.

4. I see a choke with the pro and the Bandmaster circuits... can I get by without one and keep the 10K 2 watt?