channel switching jfets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• channel switching jfets

I'm pursuing jfet switching in my next amp. Can someone review my arrangement in the schem? I cannot find the jfet symbol so I'm using the MOSFET symbol instead. I think the J112 will work. I'm going to tap off the bias supply w/ a diode, resistor, 15v zener, and cap for the negative control supply for the gate. My main concern is if M2 will cause any issues being in series w/ the clean channel signal. I'm new to jfet switching at this point but do have KOC's 1st book.
    Attached Files

Just do it and *you* tell us.
    Thanks.
    Juan Manuel Fahey

Comment

JM,
      I'm building an entire amp. I'd like to have it all planned ahead of time AS MUCH as I can so I don't run into what I did on the last amp I made. I kept modifying and modifying, adding turret boards etc... I understand that it's unavoidable in new designs to some extent, but ampage being a great source of information and experience I'd like to get as much advice BEFORE I start building this amp. I want the layout to be RIGHT from the start. If you don't want to help that's fine. I'm not being lazy, I'm doing research in an attempt to save myself future headaches.

Comment

I haven't done much jfet switching, but I've read some of Kevins books.

First, M1 is going to mute both channels when "on".

I think there is also a problem with how the jfets are connected to -16V. You should not connect your control voltage directly to the jfet gates. You should have a resistor (e.g. 1Meg) or a backwards diode to ensure the gate sees only a very small current.

When the jfet gates are not seeing -16V, they should preferably see 0V or a positive voltage. If you disconnect them completely like in your schematic, you may get unpredictable results. I think it's even a bit more complex when using a series jfet.