Mosfet switching

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mosfet switching

I'm pursuing incorporating mosfet switching in the power supply of my new amp. It's purpose is to switch the PA from full power to "tweed mode." I've attached a schem if someone would please review it, I could use some help as I'm new to FET switching.

Also I'd like to switch negative feedback in and out around the PA. How do you wire negative feedback w/ a cathodyne PI? Finally, will a series MOSFET switching arrangement work?
    Attached Files

Cathodyne with NFB.
    Attached Files
    -Mike

Comment

thanks.

Comment

Your diagram is a little confusing because the labels don't make sense. Example: Gate and Drain of M6 both go to "B". That doesn't make any sense.

You have to remember that MOSFETS typically have a Gate to Source voltage rating of 20V. If you exceed 20V they short out. M11 shunts across the tube rectifier so it's gate voltage will need to be higher than B+ to turn it on. You might want to use a P channel MOSFET there but finding one with >400V breakdown is tough.
        WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
        REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment

whoops.. ok here it is. i cleared up the control voltage labels. So a mosfet won't work for the rectifier... how about a Vactrol? It seems a VTL5C3 can handle the voltages... but 40ma of current isn't gonna work is it? I may be left with a relay as my only option there.
          Attached Files

Comment