Help with Kustom 200

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Kustom 200

Hi, I'm new to this and need some help. I am trying to reapair a Kustom 200. The PC105 board input works fine, but the the PC203 board has not worked for some time. Long story short, I found a B/E short in Q200 and a C/E short in Q201. I replaced the SE4002 with an NTE123AP and I actually found a 2N3638 to replace Q201. However...I now only get a steady popping through this channel that varies in loudness with the VOl control. The new transistors test OK and show proper polarity as I have them installed. I'm using a scope and an in circuit transistor tester. Ideas, please?

Welcome to the place.

The two preamps are exactly the same with the exception of the final 2 transistor boost circuit on the PC203 board, so you can compare voltage readings etc. from channel to channel.

If you are sure that the new transistors are installed correctly, then check the voltage readings compared to the schematic or the other board.

Input a signal into the front panel jack and then trace the signal with your scope through each stage and see where the signal is and isn't.

One thing with the boost circuit switch, is that it is just like a bypass switch on an FX box. If the contacts are really dirty it can completely kill the signal coming out of the preamp.

Comment

Thanks. I traced the signal to begin with and lost it after Q200. Found Q200 and Q201 shorted. I'll check the voltages. t's gotta be another component around these 2 somewhere. Interesting, though, my amp does not have a Boost switch. It has a switch labled "Bright" on both channels. I do see the boost circuit on the 203 board, but not sure how it relates to Bright. I Thanks again for the help.

Comment

Kustom 200

Can you post the schematics?

Comment

Kustom Preamps