Noise reduction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noise reduction

When in doubt, read the book... Yeah, sure!

I've been using Cool Edit Pro 2 for many years and FINALLY figured out what they were talking about in the help file on manual noise reduction:

"To speed up the repairing of single clicks, configure the F3key to correct them when they are highlighted by first choosing the Click/Pop filter and pressing Fill Single Click Now. The F3 key then repeats the last action without bringing up the dialog box. You can also create a quick key in the Favorites menu for filling in single clicks. [Yeah, I know that but maybe other people don't.]

"Use the Spectral View feature with the spectral resolution set to 256 bands and a Window Width of 40% to see the clicks in a waveform. See the Spectral Display area of Options > Settings > Display to adjust these parameters. Clicks will ordinarily be visible as bright vertical bars that go all the way from the top to the bottom of the display."

I've always just used the Waveform View, which looks like an EKG, showing peaks and valleys corresponding to the total energy in the sound wave. The big clicks are easy to find and remove manually, but it is the smaller ones that can be very time-consuming to remove (I had learned how to recognize their various signatures in the Waveform view, but some could be very elusive).

But by switching over to the Spectral View, those small and elusive clicks show up very clearly- you should listen to them to make sure that they are not just a drum hit. (Actually if it is on the beat, I don't care if it is a drum or a click- I leave it in! ) The one drawback with the Spectral View is that it can take a second or two for the program to redraw the screen when you zoom in or out, or move to a different spot in the track (with Waveform view this would be almost instantaneous).