Cut control questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cut control questions

I have a Fender Bandmaster which I have modded with a 4-cap post-pi MV - .1uF caps in, 33k resistors off the pots into 1.0uF caps going out. I have completely disconnected the negative feedback. It soulds pretty good with the exception of some high end slice which always seems to be lurking around.

I'd like to install a cut control to tame this - I have an extra pot position open. But - I attempted a x-line MV, and it worked SOOOOO poorly that I'm apprehensive about the Cut control. The Xline MV jumped from 0 to MAX pretty dang quickly. I don't want a Cut control that does this.

All info and ideas greatly appreciated!

Before you disconnected the NFB did you try larger feedback resistors? Say 1.5K to 4.7K, assuming it's a tolex Bandmaster.

Comment

Yep, sure did. Right now I have a 100K/4.7k feedback/shunt combo, but they're disconnected at the output jack.

I honestly haven't noticed THAT much difference between that particular resistor combo and having it totally disconnected...but I'm curious as to where you're heading with this!

Thanks,

Fred G.

Comment

You are complaining of the high end, and he is talking about keeping some feedback, whuch should serve to control that high end.
        Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Could a capacitor be placed in the NFB loop to only let the high frequency through?

Comment

yes.
            Education is what you're left with after you have forgotten what you have learned.

Comment

Well, it was my understanding (from a previous exchange here) that the post-PI Master volume essentially either removes most of the NFB, or screws about with it so much, that it's best to just disconnect it when using this type MV.

I must confess to a great deal of confusion about NFB at times.