Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• reverb issue

Hi everyone,
    I have a bandmaster reverb, all original, that hasn't been used in a few years and it has a reverb squeal issue when reverb control is turned past 4. Sounds like feedback that breaks out into a deafening high pitched squeal almost immediately after it starts to feedback. I've already replaced with known good tubes, already tried different (same model) reverb tank. The issue is present even when no tank is connected though. I dabble in amp work with the stuff I buy, so I somewhat know my way around an amp...just that nothing looks out of place when I opened it up. All elec. caps are original, but sound is strong and full-filter caps good probably, and the cath bypass caps for both rev tubes don't really see that much voltage/stress so I wouldn't thinke they would need replacement-no visual signs of bulging, etc... I have tried disconecting the reverb footswitch as well as the actual tank conections, and it will still do the same thing. I took out the 12at7 driver tube and it still howled, took out the return 12ax7 and no howl...or reverb of course. Would anyone be up to taking a crack at giving some suggestions as to where to start looking?

thanks,
    jc

It's probably a parasitic oscillation due to cross talk with the reverb return circuit (from ???). There are several "Bandmaster Reverb" models. Which one is this?

Make sure the ground connections are good and take voltage measurements on the return tube. If this is a CBS model there should be a cap from the input grid of the return tube to ground. If this cap was removed it would be a "mod" that is easily missed. The layout on the CBS amps necessitated extra measures against these sorts of things. Also, check the 10pf cap across the 2.2M to 3.3M series resistor to the summing stage. If this cap is shorted it can cause problems too. Point is, something is wrong with the return stage curcuit based on your observations so far.

Chuck