Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What kind of glue is used to glue the neck to the body?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What kind of glue is used to glue the neck to the body?

Hello,

My electric guitar that I am building from scratch just had the neck joint fail. I have been working with wood for many years and never had a joint fail on me before, So I am wondering what I did wrong.

I made sure there was no sawdust, or any dirt on the joint, and I clamped it for 24 hours using a fresh bottle of Titebond wood glue. It happened when I was lightly tapping the studs in for the Tune-o-matic bridge. Obviously the vibration of the tapping set it off.

So my question is this, what kind of glue do other people use for building their guitars? Particularly when gluing the neck to the body:

Here is a picture of the neck being clamped to the body:

Thanks in advance for your input.

-- Mike
    My Geeky blog:
    MikesTechBlog.com

Building my Electric Guitar:
    BuildMyElectricGuitar.com

Well, I haven't built a guitar but I've certainly done a lot of reading about it and done my share of various woodworking projects over the years. Tite Bond and hide glue are definately the most popular glues of choice for guitar building, hide glue being used when it's desired to more easily take glue joints apart, such as in the case of having to re set a glued neck, or remove the the top or back of an acoustic to do internal repairs. How much glue did you use? Enough so it sqeezed out when you clamped the neck to the body? Is the neck to body fit tight, are all wood the surfaces contacting each other,no gaps?