5e3 squeal tone and volume pots

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5e3 squeal tone and volume pots

This is my first build. For some reason, when the volume and tone pots are cranked up past half way it squeals really loudly. It has EH 6V6 GT power tubes, EH 12ax7 and EH 12ay7 preamp tubes and a GE NOS 5y3GT rectifier. Also, it is distorted even at low volume levels. Help please! Thanks in advance.

You could try swapping the blue and brown wires from your OT to the power tubes over. That might be the cause of the squeeling. HTH
    Col

Comment

Originally posted by acjohnson View Post
      This is my first build. For some reason, when the volume and tone pots are cranked up past half way it squeals really loudly. It has EH 6V6 GT power tubes, EH 12ax7 and EH 12ay7 preamp tubes and a GE NOS 5y3GT rectifier. Also, it is distorted even at low volume levels. Help please! Thanks in advance.
      Sounds like you have a parasitic oscillation problem. The distortion at low levels is the clue to that. It's probably a layout issue. Ground loops or wiring. I don't think reversing the output transformer wires will help, because a 5e3 uses no negative feedback loop. Maybe you could post a pic of the guts, this might give us a better idea of what it could be. Go back and triple check all your connections and layout. Have you tried a different tube in the 12ay7 position?
      Keep hunting,
      Paul
      Sometimes I'm good, then I'm bad..
      http://www.evacuatedelectronics.com

Comment

Can you use a couple jumper clip leads to short one or both of the 12AY7 grids to ground?
        If no change, try grounding lug number 2 of the 12AX7 with a clip lead.
        No change, try using a .1uF +200v cap on one end of the clip, ground the other and then touch the other end of the .1uF cap to lug 7, grid #2 of ythe 12AX7.