Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What should I get a 5W tube amp or a 15W ss for practice?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should I get a 5W tube amp or a 15W ss for practice?

I am a beginner guitarist. I want to buy a nice practice amp that will still sound good as i get better. Please don’t flame me.

Which one you recommend?
    1.vox vt15
    2. cube 30 (30 watts is a little too much for me)

following are tube. Are 5w tubes really better than SS? But a tube only sounds good at max volume, so a low wattage allows me to put it at high volume. Should i get tube amps with no effects & just get pedals or amps with built in effects?

3.Blackheart BH5-112 5W (heard real good things about this one. How will mt-2 sound with this? getting the pedal for free. Will it be better than built in metal stack?)

4. fender vibro champ xd (no mid tone control? Will it be impactful to not be able to control the mid? **Its solid-state overdrive and distortion eliminate many of the preamp tube problems that plague tube lovers. Shouldn't the tube be overdrived? So will the blackheart sound better & I should choose it if I am going for sound

5. Peavey Valve King Royal 8

How does the vibro champ xd compare with the vox vt15 (5w tube vs 15w ss) sound wise. Can these 2 play metal?

I like everything & will like to play everything. So looking for something versatile that can play from clean to metal (built in or pedal) without sounding unclear, messy/muddy/dull. I specifically point out metal because don't know if the above amps handle that sort of hi-gain well. I will test them out but will like to hear what others think if they used some of these before.

is the cube 30 better overall in tone from the valvatronics? it seems to have decent blues to metal vs valvotronics which is specialized in blues. but cube 20 & 15 is too specialized for metal. it lack blues & 30 is too loud for room.