Ampeg BA115 Trouble Shooting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ampeg BA115 Trouble Shooting

I am new to trouble shooting IC's, but not other problem solving / logical situations (automotive work, computer programming, etc) and could use a little guidance. My amp is blowing the fuse instantly on start up and I have determined that the drivers and outputs are blown, but my problem is trying to figure out which resistors to replace. I have measured the resistance of every resistor on the board, but did not disconnect them from the board so parallel paths exist for some of them. But there are many that do not have any parallel paths but still show low resistance. I'm under the impression that carbon film resistors can fail by decreasing in resistance, but they most commonly fail by creating a break in the circuit. For this reason it is surprising to me that so many resistors could have failed by decreasing their resistance. Here are some of the values I am getting:

R31 = 63, should be 220
    R50 = 877, should be 1k
    R6 = 1.26k, should be 3.3k

There are quite a few more that are low like this. I'm wondering if all of them are in fact need replacing, or if I'm misunderstanding something. I've attached the schematic for reference. Thanks for any help, I really appreciate it.

Andrew
    Attached Files

Resistor measurement

The only way to be sure is to lift one end of the resistor, right?
    By the way, if those output MosFets are toast, your best bet is to purchase them direct from the factory. Loud Technologies.

Comment