BNC or Banana Jacks to 1/4 jack

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BNC or Banana Jacks to 1/4 jack

I am purchasing a new function generator, and I'm wondering how I can use it to go to the input jacks on guitar amps, all i have seen is banana jacks or BNC, But i cant find a cable or adapter to feed it in, I am new at this, but its all a part of learning

What's coming out of your sig generator? bnc or banana? YOu should be able to find the connector and gender you need at mouser.com or digikey.com

Comment

I'm looking at these options

1. Has 1/4 jack on the backhttp://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/72-490

2. Has Banana Jacks ROOM EQ SINE SQUARE WAVE AUDIO TEST OSCILLATOR 4 PULTEC on eBay.ca (item 350201651273 end time 09-Mar-10 12:25:37 EST)

3.BNChttp://cgi.ebay.ca/Digital-Function-Signal-Generator-5-digit-0-2Hz-2MHz-ap_W0QQitemZ280472112391QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDom ain_0?hash=item414d70cd07

which would be the best solution? and if anyone knows the cables to go with them it would be greatly appreciated

Comment

A simple approach is to buy a cheap molded guitar cord, lop one end off, and mount a dual banana male there or a BNC. In fact, you could get like an 8 foot cord, cut it in half and make both.

COmmercial test leads and adaptors are available many places, here are some items from MCM with their stock numbers:

201-006 BNC female to dual banana male adaptor

I don;t see them at MCM, but they do also make the reverse - banana females to BNC male. Both types are useful in the shop. OOps, here it is, 76-005

201-101 BNC male to minigrabber clips 36" lead Pomona
        201-103 banana dual male to minigrabbers 36" lead Pomona
        21-600 BNC male to minigrabber clips 36" lead Tenma
        21-605 BNC male to aligator clips 36" lead Tenma

BNC and 1/4" is not a mix I usually see, but BNC/RCA is common enough, and shove a RCA female to 1/4 male adaptor on it and voila! or make it an RCA female.