Low Hum in AB763 Reverb Channel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low Hum in AB763 Reverb Channel

I built a Deluxe Reverb AB763 using a Hoffman Board, mercury magnetics transformers, and a standard deluxe reverb clone chassis.

It works great, and channel one is darn near noiseless. However, channel two, without the reverb on, is only close to being noiseless. It has a slight hum above 7 or 8 (on the volume). But when the reverb is on and the reverb knob is turned on, a hum starts that gets louder and worse as the reverb knob is turned up. It is a low background hum. I have tried replacing the V4 tube, as I thought that was where the reverb circuit was and thought that this might have caused the problem.

I have checked all the groundings. I am a novice and this was my first build. Setting the bias was a big event for me. Everything works fine other than this hum. I could live with the hum, but I want to get it perfect.
    Attached Files

A low hum when the reverb is turned up is normal. You're driveing the reverb pan with a class A amplifier. There are ways to get it to quiet down, but that would be a mod.
    One thing you could do is disconnect the power supply (red wire on the reverb transformer) connection and add say, a 100 ohm resistor in series with the transformer and the supply connection. Then add say a 20uf/500 filter cap to the red wire/100 ohm connection. Positive to the connection and negative to ground.
    I haven't seen too much about such a mod. I live with the hum on mine.

Comment

Thank you

Thank you. I will just live with it. It isn't that bad. I didn't know that a low-level hum was normal in the reverb channel.

Comment

Make sure you have "good" shielded cables going to the reverb pan. I had some shielded cables in mine that weren't the best quality and added some hum. Better cables dropped the noise by a good bit.

Comment

Thanx