Weber 6A20 kit blowing fuses

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weber 6A20 kit blowing fuses

Hello - first post here, and I hope my question isn't to newb-ish.

I just finished assembly on a Weber 6A20 (BFDR) kit. It's my first build, but I thought I could handle it having built other tube and pro-audio projects with success in the past.

Anyway, the whole thing is assembled, wired cleanly, I've double and triple checked all connections for correct continuity throughout the circuit and inspected the whole thing for any shorts or other problems.

I can't find any issues, and I've followed the Weber layout precisely. However, when I power it up, it immediately blows the fuse. This is with no tubes but with the Weber WZ34 rectifier installed. It also blew the fuse with no rectifier installed.

First I used the fast-acting 3A that came with the kit, then I tried a slow-blow; both blew within a couple of seconds.

I've checked all power-supply connections for shorts to ground, and I can't find anything. The filter caps look fine, and I don't see (or smell) any signs of component failure.

If anybody has some suggestions on places to look for possible problems, I'd greatly appreciate the advice!

Does this have the Elon branded filter caps? There was talk on several forums, including Weber's, about the smaller caps inside the outer shell. Sometimes they're rated lower than what the outer shell states. Maybe one of them has failed already?

Comment

Thanks so much for the response! Yes, this does have the Elon filter caps. I checked all of them for their resitance from + to -, and all of them were in the 4-5 M ohms range and showed no signs of failure. Any other ways I should be testing them?

Comment