Time to get an O-scope...tips?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Time to get an O-scope...tips?

I think it's about time I got an o-scope. I've seen some threads here where folks have taken pix of a handheld Fluke device that appears to have o-scope capabilities. Is this the best route? Or should I look for an older (and much larger) used o-scope? I don't know enough to make a good decision...I don't need it have a bunch a features/capabilities that I'll never use while working on guitar amps (pretty much the only thing I intend to use it for). But I also don't mind spending a little extra for something newer and much smaller.

Is there anything else I'll need? Do I need a signal generator...or is that part of the o-scope? Any special leads or anything?

Any products/features I should avoid?

Thanks for any suggestions.

You dont need to get too extravagant,dual channel is nice.I've been using a Tektronics T922 for about 10 years,paid about $100 used.Before that I had an old RCA tube unit along with an electronic switch to give it 2 channels.The Fluke Scope-meter you mention is quite expensive,I've never had one,couldnt see spending that much.Check eBay,you'll see some of the costlier ones with 100MHZ inputs,but a 10MHZ is fine.You will need a signal generator to inject a signal for testing.Get one that will give you a sine wave,the RF type are not for guitar amp use,they are for radio.You can find some older tube units that will give you a sine wave and square wave at a wide range of frequencies,but all you need is something that will give you a 1K signal at a 1/4 volt or less.You will also need a couple of "dummy loads" to check your output.I have 2 8ohm 50 watters that I can use individually or in series/parallel to get 4 or 16ohm.

Comment

I've been on a test equipment buying spree over the past few weeks, so I'll offer my two cents on the subject. There are a few important topics that should factor into your decision:

1. Analog vs. Digital