Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Peavey Rockmaster Preamp Mod Q's

Hello

I am in the planning stages for doing some of the common capacitor mods to my PV Rockmaster preamp. While I expect that to go without a hitch, I have a couple of Q's about further mods I cannot find info on - plus I'm not too good at reading schematics yet.

I've read about cathode followers a bit, apparently adds some 2nd order harmonics that the high gain modern amps lack - like many Peavey products. Is it possible to add a cathode follower to this preamp? Is it simply about adding a resistor somewhere or does it involve some serious plumbing? I should also clarify that I'd like to do this by converting half a 12ax7 stage instead of adding an additional tube. Unless adding a tube is less complicated.

Looking at the schematics (attached to the thread) for the RM and my power amp (Peavey Classic Series 60), it appears both have a SS rectifier. Am I seeing this correct? I've seen tube rectifier conversion kits available, which one should I replace to get some sag? Can I do both?

There also is an active eq on the crunch and ultra channels, is there a way to bypass this entirely? I'd rather use a passive rack eq for tone shaping, and I suspect an active eq won't do well with a cathode follower.

Rockmaster Schematic
    Download peavey_rockmaster_preamp.pdf from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way

Classic Series 60 Schematic
    Download Classic 60 schematic.pdf from Sendspace.com - send big files the easy way

Thanks for your support!

There are no unused triodes in the Rockmaster preamp. If you wanted to use one for a cathode follower, which function would you like to give up to get it?

A cathode follower is not a feature like reverb - you don;t generally just add one like you add a pedal to your floor board. It is usually in a circuit to change impedances. Like driving the tone stack.