3 Selector switches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 Selector switches

So my with my ibanez im doing up iv been having a dilly of a pickle with the selector switch. i have 2 buckers and a single coil.
    i was trying to use a on-on-on DPDT (i think its called)but that just hasn't worked.
    so now im trying my luck with on-off-on DPDT, by having 3 of them. one for each pickup. But as you could imagine its a bit annoying having to switch one on and switch the other one off so is there some sort of bypass or something that when i move one into (on) that deactivates the other ones?

OR any help and suggestions with the (on-on-on)?

Peace ☮

If you want it for rapid switching in a gigging situation then the triple-switch solution is more of an impediment than an assist.

What are the half dozen or so preferred sounds you would like to be able to get, and that you know you use?

As for the exotic stuff, I'll repeat what I've been saying for over 30 years: there are plenty of sounds whose subtle differences are audible when playing at low volumes with clean tone, but their differences completely vanish when the volume gets pumped up even a bit.

So, what sounds remain clearly different from each other under most playing conditions?

Comment

well iv got an EMG 81 in bridge, seymour duncan lipstick in middle, rockfield fatass at neck.
      how will the selector switch change the sound cos im a bit confused about what yo sayin.

Comment

I think what mark's trying to say is: 3 switches give you 8 possible tones, but not all of them will be useful (one of them is "no sound at all"!) so you should use a different kind of selector switch that skips the useless ones.

An on-on-on switch won't let you choose between three pickups. It'll give you one, the other, or both, out of two pickups. To select between three pickups you need a 3-way rotary switch, or better still one of the 5-way switches used in Strats.