Conductive Pens

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Conductive Pens

I'm new to this, but as a hobbyist, find it relaxing. My first question is a simple one, I am working on an Ampeg V4 which has a couple of lifted traces. I know I can jumper them or add a small board, but was wondering about the conductive pens out there to repair lifted traces. Are these any good, does anyone have good or bad experiences with them. Thanks for the help, and I really enjoy this board.

hi, new to this board, I attempted to use one of those pens to repair a flexible keyboard trace and was completely unsuccessful, I ended up using this nickel based paint (might have GC brand). I tried putting a meter on the silver stuff and did'nt get a low resistance reading, IIRC I think it measured as as open connection, maybe it wasn't the best application.
    btw a wire is probably a better choice, I don't think I'd trust paint to carry much current. Enzo or Steve (the wizards) any thoughts?

Comment

The pens are best only for low voltage low current carry circuits. If your trace is a critical trace that carries any sort of power then a jumper is best.

If you want to get really fancy you can go to Conductor Repair Kits and order a kit for repairing traces etc. the kits are expensive but last a long time.

I purchased a kit for repairing plated through holes and man its a life saver! I also purchased some paste solder for working with SMD devices but it also comes in handy for fixing broken traces. I save component lead clippings and reuse them to fix burnt traces. scrap the traces clean at each end of the area to be repaired, apply a tiny bit of flux paste, apply a tiny bit of past solder, carefully lay a piece of cut component lead over the area to be repaired and with a soldering iron, heat the area by the past solder and it will liquefy allow it to cool and it will hold the lead in place. Or if you have a hot air system you can apply some gentle hot air.

Zc

Comment