Question about tube amps power supply

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about tube amps power supply

Quick question for all the experts out there. I am new to tube amp design. Why all tube amps schematic i saw have a resistor (usually 1k or 10k) on the power supply line IN BETWEEN preamp stages? because each of those have a capacitor to ground as well, my understanding was that they work as filters for the next stage. Am correct there? Or is it because of bias point setting? If that's the case, why is that? What happens if i dont use them? Meaning, what happens if i have all stages (in my case, two stages)?

thanks

It's good practice to have a filter stage for the power tube plates, the power tube screens & the preamp & PI tubes (if only 2 tubes required...you don't really want more than 2 preamp tubes running from one filter cap. So for a simple amp (1 PI tube + 1 preamp tube), you are looking at 3 filter cap stages minimum.

Power tubes can run from anything up to 530vdc in a typical 50W amp, if that 530v was applied to a typical 12AX7 preamp tube plate resistor, the tube would be operating over voltage and probably sound awful.

In a low voltage amp the size of the power supply dropping resistors may be reduced if desired, as long as it does not take the PI/preamp tubes outside of their preferred voltage range.

What kind of B+ voltage, power tubes & how many preamp tubes are you envisaging?

Comment

At this point i am only studding/working on the preamp section. So for now i have 2 12AX7 for preamp. Quick question, what is the PI tube? Would that be the first tube in the preamp? The one that would receive the direct signal from the guitar?
      So my thinkings were right, those resistor/cap are for filtering...What should be the roll off frequencies for them?

Comment