Flapping grill cloth

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flapping grill cloth

I had built this 2061cx clone, it's in my avatar, and noticed that the salt and pepper grill cloth will flap and buzz against the baffle board when a loud low note is played. Is there a technique to getting the grill cloth tight? I guess I could have wiped some contact cement on the board to hold the cloth tight against the baffle. I really thought that since this is a heavy cloth, and I stretched it fairly tight, I wouldn't of had a problem. This is my first cab build, I guess I'm still learning.
    Now Trending: China has found a way to turn stupidity into money!

I have read that some grill cloth can be shrunk to tighten with a little carefully applied heat. I would test it on a piece of scrap if you have it before you do the real thing.

Comment

OK, I also read that you can use a damp wash cloth to moisten the natural fiber cloth to expand it a little before stapling it down, then as it drys, it shrinks, making it tighter.

I have the cloth already on the baffle so I need to add something between the cloth and the baffle to stop the flapping. I'm thinking something like some strips of black felt or thick cloth.

Comment

Try running a hair dryer over it - high heat, go easy.
        My band:- http://www.youtube.com/user/RedwingBand

Comment

One trick is to staple your cloth to a 1X4 on the end of your grill. When you fold the cloth over the grill, you have some leverage, and it will pull evenly. I don't know if it's approved, but I staple the cloth to the end of the grill when I have the tension I want. Then I staple to the back side.

Comment

Is your grille cloth flat against the baffle board? I use 1/8"x 3/4" plywood strips around the outside edge of the baffle board to space the grille cloth away. Learned this the hard way. Might just solve your problem. The cloth doesn't have to be that tight this way, just tight enough to not sag. Good luck.

Comment