Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner, want to build a TAD 5F1 kit

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

Question Beginner, want to build a TAD 5F1 kit

Hello,

I'm going to order and build a Tube Amp Doctor (TAD) 5F1 kit:

Amp-Kit Tweed Champ Style 5F1 Röhren, AMP Kits und Lautsprecher - Tube Amp Doctor

It's my first amp build. I've done a couple of BYOC effect pedals so far, and plenty of guitar-work (pickup/pots swapping, electric guitar wiring, etc.), but never an amp, and never a tube amp.

I own a 40W Weller soldering iron, solder, wire cutters, screwdrivers, a soldering pump and desoldering wick, a cheap drill and a cheap digital multimeter .

I have basic knowledge of what resistors, capacitors and so on are supposed to do (I'm a bit fuzzy on how vacuum tubes quite work though), and I've build myself a capacitor discharging tool out of a couple of alligator clip wires and a 5W 220 kOhm resistor, which I intend to use with a couple of wooden chopsticks, so hopefully I won't get electrocuted.

My questions, to begin with, are these:

1. Will a 40W Weller wide-tip (Philips-screwdriver head type) soldering iron do? It's not a soldering station or anyhing, just a plain-old plug-it-in-the-mains soldering iron. Do I need more wattage? Less?

2. Is there any other essential tool I should have that I don't?

3. Assume I'm a beginner (which I am). What books/materials would you recommend? I'm not interested in designing and building amps from scratch, all I want to do is to be able to troubleshoot and service my own amps and do robust kit builds. I strongly prefer hands-on stuff, if possible.