Choosing an output transformer...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Choosing an output transformer...

I have an old knight km-15 mono hi-fi amp that i decided to turn into a guitar amp. Been playing with it for a bit, different crappy sounding circuits etc, and realized the OT is on it's last legs. AT this point it's an 18 watt Marshall.

So the chassis is all wired up and I just need to replace the OT. I have another OT out of an organ that I think will work, but wanted to double check with folks more knowlegdable as I am still learning this stuff. I am still a bit unsure as to how to calculate the needed impedance.

The original Knight tranny had a 10,000 ohm primary (the spec sheet didn't say at what load). The tranny I have (if my math is correct) is about 6,000 ohms with an 8 ohm load, and 12,000 with a 16 ohm load.

I got these numbers by putting 7.23 volts across the primary (have a 7+v tap on my variac) and measured .263 volts on secondary. I divided 7.23 by .263 and squared it and came up with approx 756 which i then multiplied by 8 and 16, to come up with approx 6,000 and 12,000.

First off, do my numbers seem right ?
    If so, is it safe to use this tranny if I run it at 16 ohms (is 12,000 close enough to 10,000 to not cause problems)?

And lastly, on the replacement OT, one of the secondary wires (NOT the center tap) is slightly smaller gauge than the CT and the other leg. Anyone ever seen this? What gives?

As always, thanks for the help....This is a project to test my skills and my resourcefulness as I am trying to build it all from scrap parts (though I did put 3 new coupling caps in). Otherwise, I would just buy the correct OT. Just trying to see what I can come up with in spare time with spare parts and what I can learn in the process.....Cheers!