Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie help

I built this -

Took me ages and got excited when I fired her up and the pilot light came on. But it blows after 2-3 seconds. I'm a newbie with a multi-meter - could some of the kind knowledgable folks round these parts talk me thru where i go from here?
    Last edited by tubescent; 06-03-2010, 11:22 AM.

There are far better troubleshooters here, but I have a couple of general suggestions to get you started.

The fact that it is blowing fuses means you have a short. Do a search and find the light bulb current limiter and build one, so you can power it up and not have to change out a bunch of fuses.

Double check the polarity of all of your electrolytic caps

Pull all of the tubes and plug it in and power it up through the light bulb current limiter. If it glows brightly you still have a short. With no tubes, you should have little or no glow.

Cycle power install one preamp tube at a time and repeat. (divide and conquer)

If you record all of your voltages, some of the guys that are smarter than me can help you. If you have a schematic with voltages on it, it would be helpful to compare.

Make sure you have working power tubes. Shorted power tubes will take out the fuse.

Hope it helps.
    Last edited by Gibsonman63; 06-03-2010, 12:51 PM. Reason: Fat fingers

Comment

First thing I'd suggest is disconnect the amp from the power supply completely, and see if the power supply works on it's own as a stand-alone unit. This includes the heater supply leads as well. See if all the voltages are right at A,B,C, and if the fuse holds up. If not, at least you know to start at the power supply.

Are you really running at 220V mains? (just double checking) Not sure what the polarity of the 25v/5W diode is, but you might double check that as well.