Two Stroke thump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two Stroke thump

Hi all! I'm new to the fourm and saw a lot of posts about Dave Hunter's Two Stroke. I just finished a build and it is working well with only one problem. When I turn up the volume above about 3/4 I get a rapid thumping in the speaker. It gets louder as stronger as I continue to turn it up. It is unaffected by the guitar or the tone control. The noise itself stays at a constant low pitch. Any ideas?

Could be a form of motorboating. Check your filtering nodes.

Comment

What FYL means by that is make sure the high voltage filter caps are connected correctly to the OT, the dropping resistor to the screen supply and the dropping resistor to the preamp B+ supply.
      Motor boating is commonly caused by the filter caps not decoupling AC from the B+ rail... bad filter cap, soldered in wrong, not grounded.. etc etc.
      Bruce

Mission Amps
      Denver, CO. 80022
      www.missionamps.com
      303-955-2412

Comment

Please excuse my ignorance. Which would that be on this schematic?
        Attached Files

Comment

The 8uF @ 450V and the 16uF @ 475V are the suspects. Warning: these parts can store a charge and shock you when the amp is off and unplugged. If you are unfamiliar with this, search for threads about discharging caps.

You can verify the ground connection (with power off) by ohming the minus side of the caps to the chassis. Verify the plus side simply by measuring the voltage, it should be +250V to +450V or so. The parts could be defective but pass these tests so you may need to order some spares.
          WARNING! Musical Instrument amplifiers contain lethal voltages and can retain them even when unplugged. Refer service to qualified personnel.
          REMEMBER: Everybody knows that smokin' ain't allowed in school !

Comment