Masco MA-17P resurrection.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Masco MA-17P resurrection.

Hi, I'm new to the forum. I'm a professional musician; been playing guitar and harp for more than 40 years. Lately I've been more into the harp; I'm kind of bored with the guitar. Anyway, I've just recently started tinkering with amps; I bought a few "projects" on Ebay. First on the bench is a Masco MA-17P. I hooked it up to a speaker with alligator clips, brought it up slowly (over 2 hours) on a variac, and plugged in a mike; the tubes lit up, but when I tried to play harp all I got was scratchy sounds out of the speaker that did seem to correspond to the rhythm of what I was playing. What do you think is the problem? I know replacing the filter caps is usually the first thing you need to do with an amp this old, but I don't think that's the only problem; in my (limited) experience, old worn out filter caps usually cause a loud hum that doesn't get louder or softer with the volume control. Also, I'd like to install a fuse; is there a formula or rule of thumb one uses to decide the value?

Its funny that you should mention this today. I just noticed that these old POS lunchbox style Masco amps were fetching $200 on eBay, so I started a thread asking "why the madness?"

We've been talking about the obscene prices that some people are willing to pay on ebay for the old lunchbox style PA amps that are in non-working condition. It seemed to be the consensus of opinion that this type of project has become a fashionable thing to do today, and that a lot of people are taking on these projects without knowing all that they're getting themselves into. You've got a lot of work ahead of you and a lot of learning to do. Welcome to the site. You've found the right place to get help.