Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• adding an NFB into an EL84 SE amp

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to build an high gain low wattage amp (preamp like an SLO) and power amp is EL84 SE (pentode mode) but it doesn't sounds right. I think it's because of the SE power amp. I'm thinking of adding an NFB but don't know how. I looked at the Fender Champ-Amp 5E, it has an NFB goes to the cathode of the last gain stage but. I was thinking of using the same method on my but my amp has tone stack and CF so I'm wondering if there is another way to add an NFB. Should I feed the signal from the transformer secondary to the grid of EL84 through an 47K ?

Hey ozzy... i have an excillent schematic where you can put NFB switch or pot... I studied this thing... heres the schematic... Click image for larger version

Name:	5W-Tube-Amplifier-Circuit-with-EL84.gif
Views:	2
Size:	14.0 KB
ID:	845372

Comment

Originally posted by Dr. Tube View Post
      Hey ozzy... i have an excillent schematic where you can put NFB switch or pot... I studied this thing... heres the schematic... [ATTACH=CONFIG]43335[/ATTACH]
      So ozzy hasn't posted here in almost seven years, but I'm interested. Where would you put the NFB pot on the schematic you posted?
      If it still won't get loud enough, it's probably broken. - Steve Conner
      If the thing works, stop fixing it. - Enzo
      We need more chaos in music, in art... I'm here to make it. - Justin Thomas
      MANY things in human experience can be easily differentiated, yet *impossible* to express as a measurement. - Juan Fahey

Comment

Did you take care of the swing that you at the output of the CF, and the needed swing for the EL84's SE?
        How do you coupled the two circuits? Do you have a schematic?

Comment

Alternate feedback scheme: