Advice please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice please

I am new around here although I have been lurking for awhile just trying to learn from everyone. My name is Zach and it is nice to meet you all in advanced

Anyways, I am building my first winder, I was going to go mechanical counter route (for the shear fact that it is simple) but I decided slotted optic switch with counter. I want to do this because my interest in electronics just generally has been growing and I would like to accomplish something like this. My question is, in your opinions, did I get decent parts or should I order something else? I am mostly worried about the counter I purchased, but it was so cheap I couldn't pass it up.

Optic Switch

Counter

Can electronic counters have issues with counts per minute like mechanical? Please excuse my ignorance, I am very new to all of this.

Hi Zach,

Welcome.

I think you'll find the counter is a) noisy and b) probably maxes out at a few hundred counts per minute...

You can't drive it easily from your sensor either.

An electronic counter might have a maximum count speed of 10,000 per second or more.

HTH

Comment

First off, thanks for the help I really appreciate it!

Ya it arrived in the mail and was NOTHING like it looked like, but I am not very upset as it was $3. And that included shipping.
      I went ahead with a Red Lion CUB 4 brand NEW for $20!! From the research I have done that seemed to be a great deal to me so I nabbed it. What are your thoughts on it? And actually the model number is specifically CUB4CL10 but I could not find it on Red Lion website so I am hoping it is the CUB 4 I am thinking it is.

Comment

Bad news Zach, I'm afraid.

The CL stands for "current loop" and the device is not a counter

Current loop - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The datasheet is here:

http://www.redlion.net/products/grou...docs/04008.pdf

If it's any consolation, you did get it for a good price..

Cheers,

Rob.

Comment