First Build - Marshall 18 Watt build troubles

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Build - Marshall 18 Watt build troubles

Hi I am new to the forum and amp building; This is my first build. I have been putting togther a Brown note amp similar to a Marshall 18. Here is the schematic:
    http://www.brown-note.com/schematics...HEMATIC_2B.jpg
    I used a Classic Tone Transformer rather than the Brown note one and have 3 individual output jacks rather than a selector switch. Capacitors are SOZO, Sprague, and Mallory. All the voltages on the tube pins are correct when compared to other peoples voltages.

My problems are:
    1) I have a consistant hum when "Standby" is turned off. The volume knob does amplify the hum when it is turned up.
    2) With low volume and tone control completely turned down, I can get a nice clean sound. When tone control is turned up past 8:00 There is a loud consistant squeel which changes frequencies as the tone knob is rotated.
    3) When volume is pushed to overdrive, the sound is fizzy and lacks sustain.

Can anyone give me insite into what these problems may be caused by? I believe they are all related and would probably be a pretty easy fix if i could identify the fault. I don't have a tube checker but given that the pin voltages are correct and there is no abnormal glowing, I think they are still good. I also tapped lightly on each tube when the amp was on to listen for anything to indicate a microphonic tube and heard nothing out of the ordinary. I will keep probing around.

Thanks

Originally posted by bandade View Post
    Hi I am new to the forum and amp building; This is my first build. I have been putting togther a Brown note amp similar to a Marshall 18. Here is the schematic:
    http://www.brown-note.com/schematics...HEMATIC_2B.jpg