Mooreamps Test Drive

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mooreamps Test Drive

Gary asked me to test one of his 18 watt Blues amps in the studio. I'm not deep in the theory aspect but I can say that I've never experienced an amp like this. I sent it back very reluctantly. The following are my comments...
    POWER ON
    It was very different from the get go since the controls were a little different from the standard tone stack and master volume. It had twin master volume controls that allow for for direct control of the signal into the power amp in conjunction with a power break with a very apparent musical compression on the output. The amp requires a power up condition which on the prototype was not intuitive but once i talked to Gary it made total sense for anyone used to tube amp power up/power down. Once i started playing with it I realized pretty quickly that you could sustain notes on this thing forever. It's like an extension of the guitar itself in that you could "play" the amp modifying your playing technique accordingly to take advantage of the harmonic content (or totally play out of control!!) For some reason my first thing is to see what full saturation sounds like at low volume. I cranked up the volume(s) and started backing off off with the power brake. Before backing off and at full volume I noticed that everything in my studio was vibrating simpathetically. It was crazy! I stayed there for a bit making my hanging guitars sing. I should have videod that as it was an incredible symphony of hanging guitars.
    PLAYING