Circuit explanation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Circuit explanation

I'm mainly a tube amp tech--and largely self-taught in electronics--but, lately, I've been working on some solid state amps for clients, including a 1974 Peavey Musician Series 400 head. This one was brought to me by a regular client of mine who often buys things in non-working condition out of curiosity. With a blown power supply cap replaced and a power supply short traced to a power transistor replaced without the insulator (!), it's up and running again.

I was checking out the front end to make sure there were no problems--it had more hiss than I'd like--and I noticed on the input transistors of both channels that their base and emitter voltages were exactly the same, no 0.7V drop. Yet, both channels appear to work normally. Just to continue my self-education in electronics, if someone could tell me what this method of biasing a transistor is called, I can familiarize myself with it. I've attached the schematic.

I had the amp plugged into an old Radio Shack two-way monitor speaker just for testing purposes (no great loss if blown), but when I plugged in a regular 12" musical instrument amp speaker, the hiss became much less apparent. I'm guessing Peavey figured no one would hear it in a typical application, but I wonder if swapping low-noise metal films for the few high-value base-biasing resistors would lower it.
    Attached Files

Originally posted by Rhodesplyr View Post
    ...I noticed on the input transistors of both channels that their base and emitter voltages were exactly the same, no 0.7V drop. ...if someone could tell me what this method of biasing a transistor is called, I can familiarize myself with it.