Tube Phonograph - Amp Conversion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tube Phonograph - Amp Conversion

Hello I am new to the forum here. Nice forum by the way. I am new to all this so please bear with me.

I am a Harp player and have recently purchased a early 1960's Telefunken phonograph with tube amplification ( I reside in Germany). I would like to convert it into a small amp however I lack the knowhow and do not want to make any mistakes or injure myself in the process. Here is as much of the technical data I can offer at present as the unit is not yet in my posession. Tubes: ECL 82, ECL 82, ECC 83. Dual voltage, 110 + 220 Volt. Here are some photos to give you all an idea of what I am up against - http://bruzbluz.multiply.com/.

Does anyone out there have any experience with this kind of coversion? I have seen and read about people making old tube radios into bedroom amps however I have not been able to locate any DIYers in the net.

What I like about the whole thing is that it is compact and has room for a ton of ideas i.e, one 8" speaker and making the side speakers into mic and harp cases. I do however want to keep this a bit quiet as I live in a house with four other families in it.

Thanks in advance for any advice you all can provide.

Chummy

Ha, I have a few of those kind of conversions, they are cool. I am about to convert an old Voice of Music amp into a tween Champ.

It was hard to tell from your pics, but it looks like one of those amps that use a 30C5 output that has AC voltage on the tubes without any transformer in between. Is there a schematic inside the cab? What is the tube compliment?

You have to be careful if it is that kind of amp, you can get electrocuted.
    Stop by my web page!

Comment