Neodymium magnets...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Neodymium magnets...

This might seem like a dumb question, but since I'm a hobbyist teaching myself about making my own humbuckers, it can't hurt to ask: Has anyone ever tried using neodymium mags for a humbucker or pickup? I would suppose that the main drawback of that would be too much pull on the strings like you get from the poles on some Fender guitars when the strings are too close to the pickups...

I have an idea for a new pick up deisign, and wanted to get some feedback before choosing an alternate magnet for them.

i just did a quick experiment with a humbucker wound at 12k where i took some small round disc neo magnets glued them on each side of a small peice of wood so that the magnets were touching the poles & the keeper
    it sounded very bright & not enough bass .but i was thinking it might work on something really hot like 18k or hotter
    "UP here in the Canada we shoot things we don't understand"

Comment

I use them all the time. String pull will depend on the size of the magnet and the way you use them. You really don't want to use full length rods like with a Fender pickup. You can use smaller disks on top of steel rods. You can also use a steel blade charged with neos.

I find that if they are too strong you get a very bassy tone. I made a dual rail Strat sized pickup with neos. I had to switch to a smaller magnet to get a bright tone. The pickup was wound about 6K.
      It would be possible to describe everything scientifically, but it would make no sense; it would be without meaning, as if you described a Beethoven symphony as a variation of wave pressure. — Albert Einstein

http://coneyislandguitars.com
      www.soundcloud.com/davidravenmoon

Comment