Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• London Power Pre-Amp

Hi all.

My name is Peter and I am new to the site. I am not exactly sure how I stumbled on to this site, but I know it had to do with KOC and his London Power/TUT stuff. Here is the link I found -> http://music-electronics-forum.com/t244/

I am a software engineer by trade and a guitar player when I have time. The amp I have in possession is the (GT)Groove Tube D-75 and the (GT)Groove Tube Trio. Both are out of production and both a extremely grrreat . Love the sound I can get from it. My interest in building an amp is when I decided I need a back up. That is when I began my search. The only thing that satisfy my taste will be something similar to the Groove Tube. KOC provides the best possible answer imo.

Objective #1: Build a Pre-amp. 3 channel, switchable. Just like the GT Trio

My plan is to build a rack mount Pre-Amp from KOC London Power kits.

I expect this to take about 6 months. As time goes by, I will update.

FYI. KOC no longer sells the Standard. It is way over my head to do something that complex as my first build.

Bought the Quad, L-Pre, Z-Pre, Power Amp, and Line

Started to put them together.

Is this from the movie Iron Man?

Trying to mimic the Trio was a bad idea. I bought the exact same size Rack Mount chassis as the Trio and it turns out to be too small.

Cool. Look forward to seeing how this goes.
    ST in Phoenix

Comment

Cool, I'll be keeping track - I want to do a similar project to go with my Dual 75.

VJ

Comment

Hi all
        Been busy doing other things and spent some time working on amp.
        Here is my update.

I have it working, which is good. But there are things that must be fixed before I continue.

1.) Power-amp - ON, pre-amp -OFF. Without connecting the pre-amp to the Power-amp, when I power up the PRE there is this audible noise that last for about .5 - 1 seconds. Somehow the Power-amp is picking it up and amplifying it. Strange.