Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mercury Magnetics - The Emperor's New Clothes?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mercury Magnetics - The Emperor's New Clothes?

Hi folks,

This is my 1st post here. I had a little time to kill this evening, so I thought I'd pose a question to the members here.

I've been a professional musical electronics tech since the late 80s, I serve a number of music stores in the city where I live. I've been a certified tech for Fender and many other makers since the 90s. Tube gear is how I got my start, and of course, it's still my favorite stuff to work on & play through.

Rencently (past year or two) I've had more & more customers rave about the awesome iron being put out by Mercury Magnetics. When I press them about the claim, most admit that they have never actually owned an amp that was "upgraded" to a Mercury product. I recently tuned up a Deluxe Reverb ('65 Blk Face) that had the power X replaced with a MM unit. Frankly, after a fresh set af tubes & bias, it sounded to me like a stock 65 Deluxe. I checked the voltages & they were within 10% of spec. Cust claims a "huge" change in tone. I didn't hear it, & I'm fairly critical.

I've looked at their website, and I'm surprised at the high prices they are getting. They are very proud of their products. I've built amps with Hammond, UTC, Thordarson, Triad, Partridge, and Stancore over the years - some new, some NOS, some used. By far - Hammond is the one I've used most for customers, because of price and availibility.

So my question is this: Are the MM products really better than other quality Iron offered by the other major makers? Has anyone done a dead on back to back to A/B the MM with other makers? I'm honestly curious. I'm not here to debunk MM. If they truly do offer a tangible improvement that is worth the high price tag, I may start suggesting them to select customers as a replacement option.

Thanks, & excuse the long post.

BG