question on traynor yba-1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question on traynor yba-1

I have a traynor yba-1 bass master head and it start to humm frequently. Someone told me to change power tubes first. I opened it up and look for the schematic on the web. What I found is that the pwr tubes might be a pair of 7027a, but what's in there are one 6L6GC and one A9TX.

I bought it used so it may have been modified. I run it on a traynor yf-10 cab and it sounds great, though.
    It is tube rectified(one 5AR4) and also warmed up with three 12AX7a.

My question is:
    Should I switch back to the 7027s?
    If not, what is this mod?
    If anyone can help me out with this little mystery, it would be appreciated.
    thanks

Bruno,

Not sure perzactly what's going on with your Traynor as I don't recognize "A9TX" as a tube designation. But in any case mismatched output tubes can produce hum as a symptom so replacing these seems to be in order. The 7027A was an upgraded, high dissipation, 6L6GC modified so that there are multiple connections to internal elements which can help with heat distribution. As best I know all current production 7027As are simply 6L6GCs with these multiple connections so there wouldn't be any advantage to purchasing a JJ 7027A over a JJ 6l6GC if the 7027A costs more - unless the way that your amp is wired takes advantage of these multiple connections (such as two different pins connected to the screen grid for instance) - and it would be an easy task for a technician to quickly rewire the socket to take either tube (but you cannot use an EL34 in a socket wired for 7027As and vice versa - sparks and blown fuses result!).

I hope this answer your questions concerning a "mystery" and a "mod" as your specific query wasn't obvious. And have fun with the amp - these guys are loud and clean creating a great platform for the pedal user.

Rob

Comment

7027's sound best in this amp. Any other just won't be as ballsy and will fry.