Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

1970 Ampeg SVT Troubleshooting Questions. Calling on SVT Experts!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1970 Ampeg SVT Troubleshooting Questions. Calling on SVT Experts!

I'm new to the svt but I have cleaned up, recapped and retubed a V4B.

1st off I'm aware of the dangerous hi voltages and am very cautious when working on tube amps and bleed the filter caps each time.

I got a non op 1970 svt with 6146's in it. All the tubes would light up but no output. Upon troubleshooting I found that the power tranny primary wasn't wired correctly (when the standby switch is closed it should be in parallel with heater transformer). I connected it correctly. I then got an output to the speaker cab. I let it warm up in standby for 3-4 min, then brought it out of standby and let it sit for approx. 5 min out of standby, plugged my bass in for a quick test. It worked fine very little hum, until I increased the volume, (not way loud) and then 2 of the 10 ohm 5 watt resistors fried, R32 & R44. I immediately unplugged.

Here are the knowns:
    1) When I aquired the amp all the boards looked great no visual signs of burn marks or component damage.
    2) I installed all new tubes.(supposely matched)
    3) Once the Power transformer was connected properly, 512V @ coming out to the bridge rectifier diodes. (didn't measure plate voltages etc.)
    4) I slightly turned the bias pots and measured just to verify a voltage change and I did get a change and set them at .072V
    5) 6.23v to the heaters.

Here are the stupid things I did:
    1) Used an 8 ohm cab for a quick test ( I'm waiting for my 4 ohm dummy load and my 4 ohm cab wasn't at my house)
    2) Adjusted the bias with an 8 ohm load.

I'm waiting for parts. I will be replacing all the 10 ohm 5 watts as well as the 22 ohms and 47 k's and will not power up until I have the proper non inductive 4 ohm load.

Questions: