Thread: What to do when playing in countries with no ground installation?

Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 0/0
    Given: 0/0

Exclamation What to do when playing in countries with no ground installation?

Hello all, despite appearances to the contrary, this is not a joke. I am currently staying in Bolivia, where all but the most recently built buildings have no earth/ground installation. Not only that, but it seems that the majority of household appliances only have a two prong plug and obviously the same goes for the sockets. I am a guitarist, and the opportunity came up to play in a few clubs. The problem is two-fold - first of all as nothing is grounded, there is an obvious hazard to all but those using devices with no metal parts (a few keyboards, for example), but an equally untenable problem for me is the noise distortion produced in my equipment. I have some pretty professional effects units, but I cannot even really hear what they should sound like, as unless I am actually resting my right hand on the strings, with the volume way down, the hum is so intense that everything just sounds horrible, and even with my hand touching the bridge constantly everything sounds unclear and distorted and without sustain, unless I plug direct into the amp itself. Only the very latest built buildings seem to have any earth apart from the shower units. Most of these do not even have the ground wire connected to anything. I have received shocks several times when taking a shower in a hotel - so this is a really serious problem for me.
    Aside from this, whilst on tour in Antigua several years ago (an island just south of Miami), I found myself in a very similar situation, except that we were playing outside, when it started to rain. I received a nasty shock from the guitar strings, and I now know that I probably had a narrow escape from being fried, as I was playing through a potent all valve amplifier.