Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need Help: Traynor YCV20WR v. Fender Pro JR & ME/EQ box or [something else]...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help: Traynor YCV20WR v. Fender Pro JR & ME/EQ box or [something else]...

The facts:
    I'm new to electric guitars, new to tube amps, and an intermediate (at best) player (currently acoustic), but very ambitious as I take the next step. Broad musical interests, but if I had to describe my ideal sound, it would be Peter Buck/Rickenbacker/AC30... however that combo is clearly not an appropriate entry point. My decision will be what is the ideal setup for a more balanced approach that gives me a better range of sounds.

I want a quality tube amp that *can* compete with drums, gigging probably not an issue, but still an outside possibility (options are good)

Headphones will be a regular part of home practice.

What I'm pretty sure of:
    I'm buying an Epiphone LP 1959 (looks like the best option for someone that will not be investing in a Gibson... this model comes with gibson burstbuckers already installed, and I'm getting a good price)

Fender Pro Jr gets great reviews, but if I get this then I think(?) getting a multi-effects box/eq controls, etc, will be important to give some flexibility (given no controls on ProJr and my broad interests). I know many might frown on the ME involvement, but it looks like a reasonable way to dabble, at least until I really find my preferred space.

Traynor YCV20 has been highlighted by many as a standout in the "practice amp that can be loud enough..." category, and this appears to be one of the very few that have decent controls and a headphone output included. (a used option I'm considering also has upgraded jj tubes and a cannabis rex speaker)