Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• wiring my dimmer switch to my coil winder

Hi folks-

I just got a Light dimmer switch from my local hardware store for my sewing machine winder, but I have a question about wiring it up. The dimmer module is a single pole, which I believe should be the right one for the job. From what I've read, I need to keep the neutral wire together and then place the dimmer between the two ends of the hot wire. The trick is, my old sewing machine motor's plug is non-polarized. Does this mean that it doesn't matter which one I use, or that I need to do something different? Please help! I am an electrical noob and I don't know what to do, but I don't want to shock myself or burn down my building!! just fyi, I bout a "lutron" slide dimmer module on recommendation of some of the folks from a different thread.

You are correct about the switch placement. Keep the white (neutral) wires together. The motor is not polarized so it will not matter which is which.

Not sure about what your switch looks like but typically if the switch has a black and a red wire, the black is incoming power and red will go to the load. If it's just two blacks it won't matter unless somewhere on the switch case where the wires exit it states "line" or "load".
    Roadhouse Pickups

Comment

Might was well get a three prong cord and ground the metal parts of your winder while you are wiring in the dimmer to the black lead. Perhaps Magnut knows a reason not to do that?

Comment

I would agree with adding a three prong cord to your setup. It is always a good idea to ground metal parts. Grounding is the most important part of safety regarding electrical circuits.