check out my 1st build.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• check out my 1st build.

I used my Crate V58 as a platform. I added a 12AX7, and a 3 knob tone stack. It's a TON of work. After building it, I have a new respect for amps made on PCB's. You're saving a fortune on labor going with a PCB, and I don't blame amp makers for doing it at all.

I'm still learning, so I need to fine tune it a bit, but it's a lot easier now that the parts easy to get to. It's real quiet, and doesn't hum at all, so that's good. I need to get some knobs for it tho!

Looks really good, especially for a first effort. How does it sound?

jamie

Comment

It sounds a lot like my Boogie TA-15 on the Marshall 1974 mode with way more gain, but a lighter on the bass. I guess that dyna watt power is pretty good. I did 3 gain stages with a cathode follower. I liked an AT7 in the CF spot as it retains more glassiness in the tone. I tried bypassing the tonestack and master volume by running 2 gain stages right into the power section, and liked that tone a lot! But it was loud and only loud! I tried putting a 1 meg pot on it going in on 1, out on 2, and grounding 3, but it didn't work right. The TS really eats your tone a lot I'm discovering.

I tried to get more bass out of it by fully bypassing the cathodes, but it's a bit bloated that way. I think I'll gra a 100n cap tomorrow for the bass and go lighter on the cathode bypassing. I seen a 100n in a Mesa Lonestart tone stack, so I'll give it a go.

Maybe I could do a parallel cathode follower into the TS? I'll have to see if that will even work, and how to make it work.

Comment