Pros and Cons + Ideas

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pros and Cons + Ideas

I'm looking to get an amp and/or distortion pedal. Playing mostly metal, so i want a killer metal tone but also a smooth clean sound and other rock/blues possibilities. Now what are the pros and cons of these?

distortion pedal + clean channel amp (maybe tube?) ?
    distortion pedal + overdrive channel ?
    or just a good amp?

The places I'm planning to play at the moment are just clubs, nothing really big. Also my budget is of 1200-1300$. Or maybe it's a better idea to focus on a better guitar now? I own an LTD f-50 and I've been playing for almost 3 years and I feel the guitar is getting a bit 'rusty'.

I've been looking at these amps: Peavey 5150 and JCM800, but they are kinda expensive and too big. Also I've seen Vox VT40+, which seems to be a pretty good choice or the marshall 30dfx. Any advice on how to choose one, except the "go try them"? Or any other amps I should really try?

For pedals aswell I was pretty much thinking of the ibanez ts9, digitech mt2 (which seems to have a lot of bad reviews although it's famous ), boss od3 or the mxr dime distortion. Same questions as for the amps, any other ideas?

What would be a good combination of pedal/amp with that price, and how to use it?
    Are there any models which can be produced in different countries, like the idea of ESP and LTD? built in USA meaning higher quality, or something like that? something i should really consider before buying? forgot to say that I live in switzerland.

I know I wrote a lot but I really want to make a good decision and to know what I'm looking for when i go to the shop. Thanks in advance