need help with wiring a speaker cab.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help with wiring a speaker cab.

hey folks! i'm new in these parts so please bear with me.
    i have the 12" Jensen speaker from a 1947 Hammond M organ. i'd like to use that speaker to make a 1x12 extension cab, but i'm not sure how to wire it. there aren't just 2 wires coming from the magnet, there's 4. i'm trying to find out if anyone would know about how to wire it a input jack. also, if pics would help, i'd be happy to put them up. i don't know if it helps, but here's a link to the schematic. Hammond M Schematic thanks.

Hi,

Do you have the amplifier as well?

If you look at the bottom left of your schematic you'll see that the power supply energises the speaker electromagnet (1000 ohm winding) and would appear to have 115V D.C. across it. I seem to remember they used this arrangement in old radios and the magnet coil would help smooth any ripple on the H.T. instead of a choke.

Unfortunately it'll be more trouble than it's worth without the original amp.

If you do use it, the 115V looks a bit excessive to me - start small & good luck.

Rob.

Comment

thanks for your help!

i do have the amp as well. my original plan was to use the whole unit and convert to a guitar amp, but i figured doing the ext cab thing would be easier.

Comment

That is an electrodynamic speaker, also called a field coil speaker. All the speakers we use today are permanent magnet speakers. But field coils were common back then. There si no magnet in your speaker, the field coil must be energized to make a magnetic field for the voice coil to push against.

I don't think 115v is excessive, I have seen plenty of them running on twice that. Considering it is a 1000 ohm coil, that is only 115ma running through it.