Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What's Wrong with These Wirings of the Super Switch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's Wrong with These Wirings of the Super Switch?

I have finally let go of my prior expressed concern about how/whether the major circuit in guitar wiring involves the amp or not, due to the help of a lot of kind souls here. I am starting to get a hand on schematics, and I have developed the sense that the most useful, non-confusing way to follow the primary circuits in guitar wiring is to start at the tip of the jack (positive) and work toward ground, once again due to a lot of assistance.

Now I'm getting in a position to focus on my real interest, which is figuring out some of the diagrams/schematics I've seen and am considering using in rewiring an HSS Strat-like Ibanez. I am not even certain I want to use the pickup selection mechanism I am currently studying, but I thought working through it, now that I have a better hand on this stuff, would be a good exercise.

So I spent too much of today ;D trying to compile a schematic view of the wiring that I started out with (I got it from GuitarElectronics.com). Then once I felt comfortable that at least I knew what I meant, I copy and pasted it 5 times, so I could follow the current through the super switch when set in each of the 5 positions to see how it did what it was supposed to do. As it worked out, positions 1 (bridge humbucker), 4 (neck & middle), and 5 (neck) all came out crystal clear.